Site Map

Hold tight to the Rope of Allah all together and be not disunited among yourselves. (Surah Al-Imran ayah 103)

What We Do

  • Serving The Community

    The BCMA is currently the largest Sunni Muslim organization in BC. We own and operate several Islamic centres as well as Muslim Schools all across BC.

    Read more
  • New Muslim Care

    New Muslim Care is an initiative of The BCMA to cater to the needs of new Muslims and facilitate their integration into local Muslim communities.

    Read more
  • BC Muslim Schools

    The BCMA is dedicated in providing essential educational services to the muslim community and making constant effort to improve the delivery of education to our children

    Read more

Contact Us

Need to contact us or planning on making a visit? Just click the button below to send us a note or get directions to our location.

12300 Blundell Rd Richmond,
BC, V6W 1B3
P: 604.270.2522

Get In Touch

New Muslim Registration

Welcome to Islam.  This page is aimed at providing new Muslims with basic information and resources to help them get started. As always we strongly encourage new Muslims to get involved with their local Muslim community, since this provides an atmosphere of support, learning, and spiritual growth, which cannot really be experienced through the net.  Register with us and get connected to various BCMA locations and we'll try to help you inshAllah

Quick Links

  • Allah(SWT)
  • Glorious Quran
  • Mohammed
  • Ramadan
  • Mohammed

Register With Us

  • Branch:


  • First Name:


  • Last Name:


  • Your Email


  • Phone


  • Address


  • City


  • Postal Code


  • Province:


  • Country:


  • Additional Notes/Comments
  • Verification Code: 5 + 5 = (Please Enter Answer Below)



Quick Links

Discover Islam

Pillars of Islam

The Five Pillars of Islam refer to the five duties that every Muslim must perform. The first of these five pillars is the declaration of faith and the other four are religious acts that are performed either daily, once a year or at least once in a lifetime. These acts are woven into the lives of Muslims and take precedence over all worldly matters.

The Five Pillars of Islam are

  • Declaration of Faith (Shahadah)
  • Prayer (Salah)
  • Charity (Zakah)
  • Fasting (Sawm)
  • Pilgrimage (Hajj)

Declaration of Faith (Shahadah)

The most basic requirement of being a Muslim is to publicly state the words “There is no God but Allah and Muhammad is His Messenger”, in arabic, with sincerity and without any reservations. This testament is the foundation for all other beliefs and practices in Islam. To become a Muslim, a non-Muslim must repeat the Shahadah three times in the presence of witnesses.


Prayer (Salah)

Every Muslim is required to pray five times a day. The five prayers are:

  • Salat al-Fajr
  • Salat al-Zuhr
  • Salat al-Asr
  • Salat al-Maghrib
  • Salat al-Isha

These five prayers are said at dawn, mid day, late afternoon, sunset and nightfall. The Prophet Muhammad (Sal Allahu Alayhi Wa Sallam) said, “The first act that the slave (of Allah) will be accountable for on the day of judgement will be the prayer. If it is good, then the rest of his acts will be good. And if it is evil, then the rest of his acts will be evil.”


Charity (Zakah)

Every Muslim is obligated to pay a portion of his or her wealth for the benefit of the poor and needy. Zakat means “purification” and “growth”. Our possessions are purified by setting aside a portion for those in need. This also increases social welfare and encourages economic growth.

A Muslim may also donate more as an act of Sadaqah (voluntary charity), in order to achieve additional reward from Allah.


Fasting (Sawm)

Every year in the month of Ramadan Muslims are required to abstain from food, drink and sexual intercourse from dawn to dusk. In addition, Muslims are expected to refrain from anger, envy, greed, lust, gossip, violence, bad language and other inappropriate thoughts and actions. Fasting is meant to encourage Muslims to seek nearness to Allah, be patient, and learn the hardships faced by the less fortunate.


Pilgrimage (Hajj)

Hajj is a pilgrimage to the Holy City of Makkah (Mecca). Hajj occurs every year during the month of Dhu’l-Hijjah. Every Muslim who is physically and financially able, is obligated to perform Hajj at least once in his or her lifetime.